My Gaming History and Recommendations

Very recently (as in, this past summer), I have taken my status as nerd to a whole new level. Now, I don’t find the term nerd to be insulting (it’s more of a term of endearment), so exploring more aspects of that term was definitely one of my goals outside of high school. What better way to explore being a nerd, than through the use of video games?

One of my good friends – and current college roommate – got me absolutely hooked on gaming over the past summer. Previously, I hadn’t been all that interested in heavier gaming. Sure, I’d play the occasional Wii game with my family, and I owned The Sims 3 (and every expansion pack that you could possibly buy), but I had never been interested in games outside of virtual reality simulations.That quickly changed when I was introduced to two very important products: Steam and The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.

These to programs revolutionized the way I was gaming. I began to expand my gaming through Steam and Origin, and truly discovered a passion for it. Although I mainly stay within the fantasy RPG genre, I do sometimes travel into the MMO genre. My favorite games to play are: Skyrim, Dragon Age, The Sims, and League of Legends. I’m also a PC gamer, which comes with its own pros and cons (I hate using PC controls, so I ended up buying a knock off xbox controller – works like a charm). I know that means that I’m not a true PC gamer, but for me, all that matters.

However, gaming can also be an expensive endeavor, and I definitely don’t go around throwing my money at brand new video games. It’s a patience game, and usually the longer you wait after a release, the better a deal you can get. Saving money is also a reason why I use Steam and Origin as platforms to purchase games.

Gaming Platforms

Logo Steam

Steam is an online video game store, much like Origin, but not limited to its content. What I love about this platform is that is serves so many purposes. Through your account, it will track achievements for every game you have, and share them with your friends. It also holds onto all your games in its own library – so instead of having all those annoying icons on your desktop, you can just go through Steam and it’ll open the game for you! And it’s unlimited downloads, so if you get a new computer, no worries there. But my favorite aspect to Steam is the deals that you can get. They have flash deals, seasonal deals, Black Friday deals – and the amount off ranges from 20-90% off games. Those deals aren’t limited to just the games either, the DLCs also get in on that action as well.

origin-logo.png

Origin is the other platform that I use to purchase games, though I don’t use it as often as I use Steam. This is EA’s store and way of creating a library of their games that you own. You can find anything and everything that EA and Bioware has created through this service, but it is much harder to find deals. They will have sales around the major shopping seasons (Christmas, Valentine’s Day, etc.), but usually they aren’t as good as deals you may be able to find elsewhere. But it is still a nice platform to have!

Another place to find game is on Amazon.com. That website is my crack, and I usually purchase disk versions of PC games from there, simply because disks are usually cheaper than direct downloads. But always make sure to check everywhere before purchasing a game. You never know where a deal may be found!

Gaming Consoles

Being a PC gamer, I am more biased towards using a computer for gaming. However, that doesn’t mean that I don’t use other consoles! I do use the Wii to play some of my favorite games and series, such as Mario Kart and Just Dance. I also have a Game Cube, but that’s stored away since the games work on the Wii just as well. I also have a DSi, but that device is in a genre of its own. I do hope to expand this library of consoles in the future!

So… What Comes Next?

Now that you all kind of know where I stand on gaming, I hope to expand from here! I do plan on writing some reviews for the games that I have played to share with you all. In addition, maybe I’ll be finding some new games to play and recommend! I don’t know. But what I do know is that I hope to grow as a gamer and a writer through this section on my website.

Thanks for taking the time to read my musings, and I’ll see you next time!

*****

“A game is an opportunity to focus our energy, with relentless optimism, at something we’re good at (or getting better at) and enjoy. In other words, gameplay is the direct emotional opposite of depression.”
― Jane McGonigal, Reality Is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change the World

Leave a Reply

