Cassandra Clare [Review]


SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Cassandra ClareThis woman has ruined my life. For those of you who don’t know her, this is author Cassandra Clare, the inventor of the Shadowhunter world, AKA The Shadowhunter Chronicles.

Why has she ruined my life, you ask?

Well, every time she releases a book, nothing else matters. I will do nothing but read the book from cover to cover, no matter the page length, for however long it takes (average is about 8 hours to get through her 800 paged books), and all within one to two sittings.

The other thing is: SHE MAKES US WAIT FOREVER FOR NEW BOOKS. (Cassandra and Taylor Swift would get along well, as they both make us wait two years for new material to be released from them.)

Now, in all seriousness, her books are amazing. There is truly no way to describe how much I love her books, or how much of an impact they have had on me as a reader and a writer. I discovered her The Mortal Instruments series when I was in eighth grade and they helped to save me from my Twilight stage of life. There’s just something about her world and character dynamics that draws a person in and leaves them changed afterwards. Is it her writing? The genre? The everything?

I have read all of her books in The Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices trilogy, and I have to say that I loved every minute of them. I also read them as they were still being published, so I’ve gotten very accustomed to waiting for long periods of time between books. If anything, that just makes me love her books more, as they are almost always perfect (But it’s also infuriating).

With all that being said, I’m going to go into a super quick overview of all of her books, for those who haven’t read them.

The Infernal Devices (5/5 Stars)

TID Original CoversThis trilogy is set in 1878 London, England (Only my favorite era EVER!), and carries strong elements of steam-pun and historical fiction. This book primarily follows Tessa Gray, a 17 year old girl coming from mysterious circumstances. These books are full of adventure, intrigue, romance, and it’s probably my favorite trilogy of all time. However! I highly recommend having tissues and comfort food on hand, because they make you feel all the feelings.

Check out the link below for more information!

The Mortal Instruments (5/5 Stars)

TMI Original CoversThis series is set in 2007-2008 in New York City (and other places that are spoilery, so I won’t mention them) and is a six book series. The series follows Clary Fray, a 16 year old girl who doesn’t know that she’s a Shadowhunter. It’s full of a colorful cast and array of characters that create a dynamic story that makes you laugh, cry, and everything in between.

Check out the link below for more information!

Fun Fact: It was originally a trilogy, but because it was so popular Cassie added three more books. That’s why the first three books only have one word (after “City of”) and one character on the cover, and two words and two characters on the last three books. 

The Dark Artifices (?/5 Stars)

Lady Midnight

As of right now (March 7th, 2016; 7:30PM), Lady Midnight is sitting at my house, which kills me because I’m away at school and won’t be able to get my hands on it until Saturday.

Did I mention that I’ve been waiting two years for this book!?

This trilogy is set in 2012, which is 5 years after the ending of City of Heavenly Fire. The setting is in Los Angeles, California, following the Carstairs family. From there, I don’t know what the book is about. I like to stay away from possible spoilers and wait to read the synopsis until I have the book in my hands (I know, I know, it’s weird. But I only do that with these books. It adds more excitement!).

I’ll be posting a review for the book once I finish reading it.

*****

The Shadowhunter Chronicles (In Chronological Order)

If you haven’t previously read Cassandra Clare’s books before, I highly recommend reading the books in this order (when possible, seeing as not all of the books have been released yet) because many things do tie together, and you may be spoiled on some things due to that fact.

*****

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”
― Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Cassandra Clare [Review]

Leave a Reply

