The Siren [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com):

The Siren.jpgFrom Kiera Cass, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series, comes a sweeping stand-alone fantasy romance.

A girl with a secret.
The boy of her dreams.
An Ocean between them.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love with a human breaks the Ocean’s rules. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.

Page Count: 327

Goodreads Rating: 3.90

My Rating: 1.5/5 Stars

My Thoughts: 

As a fan of Kiera Cass’s The Selection series, I have zero idea as to why I went into this book with high expectations. Literally none. I’ll concede to it being a quick and easy read (even though it took me a month to read, due to lack of time and motivation to read it), but I would only recommend it to those who are looking for a filler book when in between series. Don’t put it at the top of the list.

From the synopsis above, you can see that the main character’s name is Kahlen, and she’s a Siren for the Ocean. That was how creative Kiera got with the names. Kahlen. Aislign. Akinli. Elizabeth. Miaka. Padme. The Ocean (which was creepily cult like. The “Ocean” was always referred to as “She, Her”, or “You”). Honestly I found the names to be distracting from the overall story, considering that the characters were pretty much two dimensional. It was as if her creativity ran out with the names and she gave up when it came to character development. In addition, when I read, I always find that one character to root for, and I have another character that I fall in love with. This story? This had neither. I wasn’t a fan of any of the characters in general.

Furthermore, I felt like I was reading an attempt at The Little Mermaid as it mixed in with some superficial siren lore. With the title being The Siren, it was very much lacking in the mythology. And I love mythology, so if there was more invested within the pages of this book, there would have been more depth and points of interest for a reader.

That was my biggest issue  – the lack of creativity. But, Nicole, this was her first novel she ever wrote! I know, but seeing as this was going through the professional editing process, I feel that more should have been done to move this into a stronger direction. The story arch was typical to that of a middle grade book, there was insta-love (pet peeve, right there), and everything was very shallow and not well developed. I wanted more and the book refused to do so.

Now, it’s hard to argue all of this without evidence, but this is also just my opinion of the book. I went in, thinking that maybe this would be better than her Selection series and that there would be more offered to the reader. I was wrong on all counts, and walked away from the book sorely disappointed and wishing I had spent my time doing something else.

*****

“She would want me to forget all about him. But how could eyes not notice the light? How could lungs not acknowledge the air? There are just some things you can’t ignore.”
― Kiera Cass, The Siren

*Gags*

3 thoughts on “The Siren [Review]

Leave a Reply

