The Shannara Chronicles [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

shannarachronicles

Synopsis (Taken from MTV.com)

‘The Shannara Chronicles’ is a new TV series based on the best-selling fantasy novels by Terry Brooks. Set thousands of years after the destruction of our civilization, the story follows an Elven Princess, Amberle, a half-human half-elf, Wil, and a human, Eretria, as they embark on a quest to stop a Demon army from destroying the Four Lands.

Internet Rating: 8/10 Stars

Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Opinion

This was a show that wore me down through commercials, before I actually watched it. You know what I’m talking about – when the commercial plays over and over and over again and you can’t get the show out of your mind and suddenly you’re watching it and don’t know quite what happened.

Yup. That was me with this show.

Only, thanks to the MTV promotional of allowing the audience to watch the first four episodes early (with TV provider log in), I found four hours of my life disappearing as I sat and didn’t move and just watched the show. I don’t mean that in any negative way – I mean it in a good way. The show sucked me in and kept me there until I ran out of show and had to wait a full two weeks before I got a new episode.

For an MTV show, I was impressed with how much money they poured into Shannara. It was unlike any show of theirs that I have ever seen. Everything was beautiful and there was no way to discern what was real and what was CGI. Honestly, I felt as if we were in a Lord of the Rings movie at times. No complaints there! Every episode came with its own adventure, which was interesting and intense in its own way. I’ve never watched a show that was so dynamic in so many ways at one time.

All of the characters were well-rounded, dynamic, and had strong chemistry with each other. I also felt that the writes did a great job with world building, for there was nothing that was I questioning or misunderstanding. I felt as if I had stepped into a completely new world and I was able to immerse myself completely in it (well, until commercials interrupted, that is). The sets, the costumes and make up – everything was perfect. It was also nice to see MTV break out of reality TV shows and produce a high fantasy/science fiction masterpiece.

One of my favorite aspects to this show was the way in that they tricked the audience about who the main character truly was. I came to this realization during the season finale – that only so-and-so matters, and that the rest of the characters can die. Can we say Game of Thrones much? But that deception added more suspense and tension to the last episode, so coming to that realization was definitely worth it (while also very depressing).

Overall, I really enjoyed this show and I hope it returns for a second season! I highly recommend it to those who are looking for a good fantasy show to pass by the time – and, bonus, it’s only eight episodes long!

Here are Some Images from the Show!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*****

“We live out our lives as we are meant to live them-with some choice, with some chance, but mostly as a result of the persons we are.”
― Terry Brooks, The Druid of Shannara

2 thoughts on “The Shannara Chronicles [Review]

Leave a Reply

