Lady Midnight [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Before we get started: HOLY CRAP YOU GUYS NEED TO READ THIS BOOK. If you haven’t read any of Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter novels, you need to get on that! Especially is you are in love with young adult fantasy/paranormal novels. (Check out my review about her books if you want to learn more.)

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com)

Lady Midnight coverThe Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Glitz, glamours, and Shadowhunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare’s Dark Artifices series.

Page Count: 720

Goodreads Rating: 4.55 Stars (as of 3/20/2016)

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Thoughts

IMG_5370As an opening book to a brand new trilogy, Cassandra Clare killed it. When I finally got it in my hands, I felt excitement and happiness settle into my core and it stayed there as I burned through the pages of the book. Although usually it only takes me two days to read one of her books, I was happy to take my time with her story. After seven days and countless hours of reading, I finally finished it at one in the morning today.

Cassie’s world and writing is breathtaking. Her world layers nicely over the reality that we live in and it just works. It’s a lot like Harry Potter, in that way. There is no questioning where her world beings and where reality ends because it flows together so beautifully. I think that’s why I love her books, and this one, so much – because I can picture all the events happening without a thought. It’s dangerously easy to fall into her world and it’s much harder to find your way out, especially when you have to stop reading for the day/night.

Also, the cast of characters she had brought in a dynamic mix for the reader. We had the goofy, the wise, the nerds, the warriors – and everything in between. As a reader, you can’t help but feel for the characters. You hurt when they hurt, love when they love, learn what they learn; these characters become your universe. My only complaint is that I would have liked to have seen either a little more character development or have gotten to know the entire cast better – but, I suppose that’s what the other two books are for, eh?

The plot, as always, was Cassie Clare perfection. She usually has a pinch of mystery woven into all of her stories, but what I enjoyed about this one was how the sense of mystery was brought out more. The shadowhunters were off solving mysteries beneath illegal circumstances, which created more tension and helped the pace of the book. If I was to only judge the book on its plot performance, I’d give it a 96%. It was paced well, there were many plot points that had me gasping and freaking out (especially towards the end), and it was just beautifully woven together.

But, can we take a moment to talk about that romance? (Let’s be honest here, it wouldn’t be a young adult novel without that dose of romance). Out of all of her romances, this was the one I was the most uncertain of, mainly because of the stakes involved. I also found it difficult to fully buy into it because we didn’t get to know the characters as well as I would have liked before they jumped into the romance. However, don’t feel like I’m knocking it! There were many moments that had me giggling and smiling and making me frustrated, like a good romance does.

However, the most important aspect to this story definitely falls within the realm of family. That theme and motif tied everything together and drove the overall story. The Blackthorn family is unlike anything I have previously seen in her books, and I can’t wait to see what further adventures await us!

*****

Check out my favorite Youtuber, Christine at Polandbananasbooks, and her review of the book! Check out her video here!

*****

The Shadowhunter Chronicles (In Chronological Order)

*****

“That’s not the spirit of the law, Emma. Remember? The Law is hard, but it is the Law.”
“I thought it was ‘the Law is annoying, but it is also flexible.”
― Cassandra Clare, Lady Midnight

One thought on “Lady Midnight [Review]

Leave a Reply

