The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

The_Elder_Scrolls_V_Skyrim_coverNow, many of you might have heard about Skyrim. It’s one of the most popular fantasy games out on the market, in my opinion. Or, you might have heard of the company, Bethesda, who creates The Elder Scrolls, and popular first person shooter series, Fallout.

Many of my friends were raving about this game, and I started playing it in summer of 2015. It took me about 24 hours of game play – across a five month span – to finish the main story line, but I have yet to return to finish any or all of the side quests and DLCs. But, I will return to it eventually! I’m just too busy with my school work and other activities to continue play at the moment.

Although another game has stolen my favoritism (yes, I’m looking at you Dragon Age: Inquisition), this game will always have a special place in my heart, considering it was the game that morphed me into a gamer.

Game Summary (Taken from The Elder Scrolls Official Site)

The Elder Scrolls told of their return.

The Empire of Tamriel is on the edge. The High King of Skyrim has been murdered.

Alliances form as claims to the throne are made. In the midst of this conflict, a far more dangerous, ancient evil is awakened.

Dragons, long lost to the passages of the Elder Scrolls, have returned to Tamriel.

The future of Skyrim, even the Empire itself, hangs in the balance as they wait for the prophesized Dragonborn to come; a hero born with the power of The Voice, and the only one who can stand amongst the dragons.

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

My Opinion

This game had me hooked from the get go. What’s better than getting to personalize a character (from a handful of dynamic and detailed species), and slay at being an archer, swordsman, and mage? On top of that, you’re Dragonborn – a rare category of people that can speak the language of the dragons, slay them, and absorb their souls in order to grow stronger yourself. Wicked, right?

Map_of_skyrimNot only that, but the game is huge. You can spend hours exploring the world, fighting wild animals, and defeating dungeons (which there are many of). The stronger you get, the easier it is to defeat dragons – which pop up out of nowhere constantly. At first, I was terrified to fight those royal creatures, but after defeating the main quest line, you get a feel for how easy it truly is.
One of the neat aspects of the game is getting to know the towns and the people within them. You can help the Jarl’s, the leaders of each town, on the quests that they have for you. If you gain enough influence within a town, you can even buy a home, get married, and adopt orphan children that are scattered across the game. In addition, you can buy horses and have followers (you’re allowed one, unless you mod your game).

For a fantasy lover, this was definitely the game for me. You get to take part in world politics, shape your hero or heroine into any way that you want, and just have fun. Now, I haven’t played the previous games within this series (but I do own them), but I really enjoyed the story line and the adventure! I can’t wait to go back into the game and play it again, or finally finish more of it.

Story Time

the-elder-scrolls-v-skyrim-horseNow, unintentional jump scares are very much a thing in Skyrim. You’re constantly traveling through dungeons, being attacked by the undead (one of the biggest sources of scares for me), and, of course fighting off giant spiders that love falling from the ceiling. Just so you know, arachnophobia? It’s real for me. One of the few things that I am actually afraid of is spiders. Anyways, I digress.

One of the best jump scares and saddest moments of my game involved myself, a horse, and a saber tooth tiger. My horse (affectionately named Horse because I had no other ideas otherwise) and I were out in one of the multiple mountain regions, on the hunt for dwarven ruins, when suddenly the fight soundtrack began to play in the background. I didn’t think much of it, since no red dots were appearing on my radar. Surely, nothing was around to attack me. So I continued on my merry way, the music continued to grow louder and didn’t disappear, and I finally thought to turn around and see what was going on.

Low and behold, there was a saber tooth tiger that was pouncing on me. Now game character me jumped off her horse and I began attacking. Real me screamed like a little baby and jumped so high in her chair that she almost fell out of it (My roommate was very concerned at this point, and after defeating the animal, I explained what had happened). After that saber tooth tiger finally died, I surveyed the scene and noticed that not one, but two animals had died during the battle.

That’s right. My noble steed, Horse, had died in my attack.

I’m still recovering from that loss.

Final Recommendation

If you are looking for a fun game to play, or want to take that first step into the gaming world, I highly recommend this game. The game play is smooth and the commands are easy to follow – whether on PC, or on XBox, or other consoles. Most importantly, I found it to ease me into gaming and help me fall in love with this hobby.

However, those with arachnophobia be warned – those jerks are everywhere in this game!

Here are Some Images from the Game!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*****

“I got to thinking, maybe I’m the Dragonborn and just don’t know it yet.”

The Guards, The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim

Leave a Reply

