Red Queen [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Synopsis (Taken From Goodreads.com):

Red Queen CoverThis is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

Winner of a 2015 Goodreads Choice Award!

Page Count: 383

Goodreads Rating: 4.12/5 Stars

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Opinion

Being honest here, I read this book over a year ago, and haven’t reread it since, but I want to post a book review about the sequel, Glass Sword, so I’m just going to give you a quick little overview of the book today.

I have to say, there was a lot of hype that surrounded this book, and it was rightfully deserved. It had to be the best debut I have ever read and it was one of the best fantasy young adult novels of the year! Not to mention, that cover was gorgeous (and have you seen those end-papers?). What drew me in was the concept of the book – red and silver blood? Supernatural powers? Fantasy, young adult? Sign me up!

I read this book like I read a Cassandra Clare book – once I sat down and open the front cover, it was game over. It was fast paced, the characters were dynamic and loveable, and it was unlike any fantasy book I had ever read previously. The plot carried complexity, and was woven together intricately, and was flawless in every meaning of the word. And that imagery – phew, it almost felt like I was watching a movie in my mind (if that makes sense, otherwise I sound like a crazy person).

After finishing the book, I remember running to all my friends – who read – and shoving it down their throats because I needed to share the awesomeness that that book is made of. There really aren’t word to express how much I love this book and this world.

I want to say more,  but due to avoiding spoilers and a vague memory of everything that happened, I’ll keep them to myself. But if you haven’t checked this book out yet, I highly recommend it! Especially since there is talk of a movie adaption, to be directed by Elizabeth Banks. Hopefully we’ll hear more news on that soon!

*****

Red Queen (Series)

*****

“It’s our nature. We destroy. It’s the constant of our kind. No matter the color of blood, man will always fall.”
― Victoria Aveyard, Red Queen

Leave a Reply

