The Crown [Review]

SPOILER FREE

This isn’t something widely known, but I have a soft spot for The Selection Series by Kiera Cass. I fully admit to this series being my guilty pleasure. For some reason, these books are the ones that always I turn to when I need a quick read and they never fail to make me deliriously happy. (Seriously. They make me so happy that it’s both surprisingly and almost sickening.)

This is the last book in the five book series (originally a trilogy) and it was released on Tuesday, May 3rd, 2016. However, I wasn’t home to get my hands on it (yay college!), so I had to wait till Thursday to be able to read it. And let me tell you: I devoured this book. I haven’t had the time or the motivation to read lately – when you’re an English major, you have a lot of readings and those tend to burn you out and turn you away from pleasure reading – but when I got this book I knew that:

A) I would be able to read it quickly (total read time: 3 hours).

B) It would be an easy read.

C) It would be the pick up I need right before I head into finals week.

I was right in all counts, which was surprising. It’s just a shame that I had to stay up till 1am to finish reading the book and to write this blog post. But who needs sleep when you’re excited after finishing a fresh read?

*****

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com):

The Crown CoverWhen Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

Page Count: 279 pages

Goodreads Rating (as of 5/6/2016): 4.13/5 Stars

My Rating: 3/5 Stars

My Opinion

The first thought that pops into my head when I think of this book is: it was too small. Part of this thought is a result of the fact that I received this book alongside of Sarah J Maas’s new novel A Court of Mist and Fury and that book is massive (a whooping 640 pages!). For the finale of a beloved series, I guess I was expecting more length-wise.

When it comes to Kiera Cass, I always say this: her writing is very easy to read and is at a middle-grade level, but her stories always make me happy. I don’t know why, but I always find myself wearing a stupid-happy grin when I’m reading her books. However, I also find them to be very predictable as well. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy them.

While the original trilogy will always be preferred to these two additions to the series, I was impressed by the character development I saw within this book. For example, take the main character, Eadlyn. The first book didn’t give me a good impression of her personality, but in this book you saw her growth. You saw her realizing her faults and trying to find ways to fill in the gaps. You saw her working to be a better person for the sake of herself and her country. I applaud that development!

But, there is no denying that this book was too short for a finale. Yes, the other books in the series never went more than 400 pages, but for the definite finale we got a measly 279 pages. Kiera, why? Due to that short length, it was easy to burn through the story and it definitely felt rushed. It felt as if the story needed to be wrapped up quickly and it did not allow for a great amount of closure. Sure, it looks like the characters will get to lead out happy and healthy lives, but the romance suddenly came into play within the last hundred pages or so and it wasn’t well developed. And we easily could have gotten another one to three chapters between the current final chapter and the epilogue.

I guess I’m disappointed that we didn’t get more from the book. Yeah, there was more character development than we’ve previously seen from her books, but The Crown remained stoically predictable and unwilling to give the readers what they wanted to see. The subplots were quickly woven into the main plot – and we could see them from miles away – and the romance was too fast to be realistic, and the ending snuck up on the reader all to quickly.

As a fan of the books, I wanted more. And I’ll always want more. That’s what fanfiction is for, I guess. Here’s to hoping that Kiera will produce another novella for the Eadlyn fans/those who simply wanted to read more about the Schreave clan.

*****

The Selection (Series)

*****

“Maybe it’s not the first kisses that are supposed to be special. Maybe it’s the last ones.”
― Kiera Cass, The Crown

One thought on “The Crown [Review]

Leave a Reply

