Kiera Cass [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Kiera CassI have a love and hate relationship with Kiera Cass’s writing. On one hand, I am absolutely in love with her The Selection series because of the plot that it offers readers. On the other hand, her novel The Siren was definitely one of the worst books that I have ever read. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t still have a soft spot for what she offers her readers.

When it comes to her writing, I do wish there were more complex aspects to it. If you’re looking for an easy read and fast read, I highly recommend Kiera Cass’s books. I can finish one of her books in about three hours max, which makes it the perfect series to marathon read or take on trips. Although I always find myself wishing for more from her books, they still keep me captivated and enthralled while reading – even if I can predict the plot and what’s going to happen next. Also, areas of character development and her use of subplots have improved with every book she releases.

The Selection Series (4/5 Stars)

As I spoke about in my review of The Crown, this series makes me weirdly happy every time I read it. I can’t truly explain the feeling, but it’s there. A way to describe these books would be The Bachelor meets Royalty in a slightly futuristic world (by slightly I mean it’s in the future, but the only notable differences are found between the countries that are in the world). The characters take you on a wild and exciting ride through various emotions, politics, and adventures that you will never regret.

(Fun fact: this is the only series to inspire me to write fanfiction, and if you know anything about me, it’s that I’m not a huge fan of fanfiction. And yet here we are. I wrote maybe about 20% of the story and hopefully I’ll be able to return to it soon.)

The Siren (1/5 Stars)

I’m not even going to speak about this book or how much it frustrated me – here’s my review on the book. Read it if you want to!

Final Thoughts

I don’t know what she’s preparing for us in the future – seeing as the final book in The Selection series was just released – and I’m not sure as to whether or not I am going to read more of her novels. But I do know that I will continue to reread The Selection series as long as I own my personal copies of it.

*****

The Selection (Series)

The Siren

*****

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*****

“The best people all have some kind of scar.”
― Kiera Cass, The One

Leave a Reply

