Katie McGarry [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Katie McGarryIf you are ever looking for a good contemporary read, I highly recommend Katie McGarry’s books. There was a time when I was in major need of a contemporary fix and I just happened to stumble across her books on Amazon and I quickly fell in love with her stories. They have a way of drawing you in and keeping you immersed within her world of modern day Kentucky. I definitely marathon read the entire series when I was on vacation one summer.

Now my friends can attest to this – I recommend her books to everyone I come across. I’ve never read better contemporary novels before and they will forever be my favorites. Much like Cassandra Clare and Sarah J Maas are my Queens of Young Adult Fantasy, Katie McGarry is my Queen of Contemporary Young Adult fiction. There has never been a time where I wasn’t counting down the days to her newest release!

Not to mention this fact: she’s a wonderful person. I’ve emailed her and tweeted at her a few times and we’ve had awesome conversations about writing and the publishing process. Not only do I get to enjoy her work, but she is always there to give advice to novice writers! Also, she never fails to communicate with her fans and is always interacting with us, and for that I’m grateful.

Pushing the Limits Series (5/5 Stars)

There is not one book in this series that I did not give five stars to. I think that has to do with the fact that the stories are all written well and they follow the stories of teenagers, which was relate-able to me at the time. Also, it’s neat because all of the main characters are connected in some way – either they are family members or they are close friends – and they all live in the same town in Kentucky. Each book also dealt with some sort of theme – mental illness, growing up, facing the future or your fears – that truly brought the novel to a new level of greatness.

Thunder Road Series (4.5/5 Stars)

This series is also based on teenagers, but it also deals with the consequences of a motorcycle club in the small town of Snowflake, Kentucky. I really enjoy this series because it has a hardier edge to it – it’s fast, it deals with people of various socioeconomic classes, and with a small American town. This series also deals with serious things – divorce, murder, suicide, bullying – in a way that respects the issues. While I might not love this series as much as her first series, it definitely stands out as some of the best contemporary work on the market.

Final Opinion

Overall, these books hold a special place in my heart. I turn to them when I need a good contemporary read and I never fail to find something that I love within them. And don’t be turned away by the covers! Remember, it’s the content inside that matters – don’t judge the book by it’s cover.

*****

Pushing the Limits (Series)

  • Pushing the Limits
    • Crossing the Line (#1.1)
    • Breaking the Rules (#1.5)
  • Dare You To
  • Crash Into You
  • Take Me On
  • Chasing Impossible

Thunder Road (Series)

  • Nowhere But Here
  • Walk the Edge
  • Untitled
  • Untitled

*****

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*****

“Because growing up means making tough choices, and doing the right thing doesn’t necessarily mean doing the thing that feels good.”
― Katie McGarry, Pushing the Limits

Leave a Reply

