Sarah J Maas [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Sarah J MaasIf there is one thing in this world that I regret, it is definitely pushing off reading Sarah J Maas’s books until this year. My boycotting of her books was for a dumb reason too. When I was a little younger (i.e. like four years ago) I was an avid member of the writing website Figment.com, and on that website there were many contests offered. I wrote for the contest under Sarah’s jurisdiction and she didn’t select my piece as a winner – so I decided to not read her novels.

However, this year they had been gaining a lot of hype through BookTube and other websites, so I thought I’d give her writing a go.

And it changed my life.

Literally, I walk around and call Sarah my “Queen of Fantasy” because her books are so immersive and so vast that it’s hard not to love them. I try to get as many of my friends – as I can to read them – and for the most part they have loved them as much as I do! My love for her books comes down to: Sarah working with elves and faeries, and her creation of entirely new worlds that are easy to assimilate to and fall in love with. Not only that, but her plots and subplots never fail to blow me away or surprise me.

Throne of Glass Series (5/5 Stars)

High fantasy world. A female assassin. Locked away magic. Humans. Elves. Witches. It really doesn’t get better than this, does it? I’ll admit, the first book does take some time to get into to, but you just hit this point and the next thing you know, you’re read all the books that have been released and you’re angrily screaming “SARAH!” at nothing and waiting for the next book to be published.

The characters are lead on crazy adventures that never cease to amaze. They solve mysteries, fight back against the evil that is trying to conquer the world, and fall in and out of love. There is a lot of history and lore that comes with the world as well, which takes the story to a whole new level. In addition, the characters all have deep pasts that add dimensionality to them. Truly, this entire series is flawless and I would constantly re-read them, if I could.

A Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy (5/5 Stars)

This is a trilogy set in faerie and human world, upon which the two species are separated by a wall. The first book is a re-imagining of the tale Beauty and a Beast, in which our heroine Feyre has to save the members of the Spring Court from their curse, while also struggling with the separation from her family. The second book continues to follow Feyre’s journey through the various courts of Prythian as new threats come to life.

What I really enjoy is the high-fantasy aspects to the story. And you know its a serious world, considering the fact that there’s a map in it! Also, she has exotic names that suit the characters and their dynamic personalities. These books never fail to make me laugh, cry, impatiently wait for romance to kick-start, and thoroughly enjoy escaping into a new world.

Final Opinion

If you haven’t picked up Sarah’s books yet, I highly recommend it! Not to mention, the covers are all beautiful in a weird way – I’ve never seen drawings of their genre on a book before! (Biggest regret: having the entire Throne of Glass series on my Kindle versus purchasing physical copies.) In addition, her heroines are fierce and will quickly worm their way into your hearts and your minds. I can’t wait to see what else Sarah has in store for us in the future.

*****

Throne of Glass (Series)

  • The Assassins Blade
  • Throne of Glass
  • Crown of Midnight
  • Heir of Fire
  • Queen of Shadows
  • Empire of Storms (9.6.2016)
  • Untitled

A Court of Thorns and Roses (Trilogy)

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • A Court of Mist and Fury
  • Untitled

*****

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*****

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”
― Sarah J. Maas, Throne of Glass

Leave a Reply

