A Court of Thorns and Roses [Review]

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com):

A Court of Thorns and Roses CoverA thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Pages: 416

Goodreads Rating: 4.3/5 Stars

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Opinion

Disclaimer: I read this book a few months ago, so I’m just going off of what I remember.

I had just come off of my marathon reading of Sarah’s Throne of Glass series when I cracked into this book- and boy, was I happy I did so. Coming into this book, I really didn’t know what to expect. Was it going to be a spin-off series for Throne of Glass? Was it going to be in an entirely new world? All I knew is that the book was a new interpretation of the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast.

Now, I’ve been reading a lot of direct fairytale remakes lately, but this is one of the better Beauty and the Beast rewrites (?) that I’ve ever seen. I think it was amplified by the fact that we are dealing with faeries in this trilogy, and Sarah’s version of the fae have a very primal tone to them. But it is through that undertone that she is able to play around with many aspects of characterization.

I know, I know, characterization is one of the main topics that I talk about in my reviews, but Sarah is a master storyteller, and that is seen through her characters. After attending a BookCon panel that she was apart of, I look at her characters in a new way. Sarah stated that many of her characters have been in her head since she was a teenager, which always for her to have a better understanding of them as people, and she has a level of trust with them when they take the plot within a different direction than what she had planned. Through her characters, Sarah paints a more honest story and picture for the readers.

This novel was no exception from her way of storytelling. Feyre is a fierce human being who is subjected through many trials that evolve her into something stronger, something better than she was before. But she also faces difficulties with her past, present, and future. Feyre not only lead the story, but she added depth to it as well.

Furthermore, this book encompassed so many genres and themes that I love. Fantasy, romance, action and adventure; sacrifice, learning to love, fighting for freedom. Now, those were only a selection of what can be seen within the pages of this novel, but you’re going to have to read it in order to find out what the rest of them are!

*****

A Court of Thorns and Roses (Trilogy)

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • A Court of Mist and Fury
  • Untitled

*****

“I threw myself into that fire, threw myself into it, into him, and let myself burn.”
― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

One thought on “A Court of Thorns and Roses [Review]

Leave a Reply

