Hollow Ciy [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com):

Hollow City CoverThis sequel to the first novel, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended.

Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered vintage photographs.

Synopsis (Taken from Amazon.com):

September 3, 1940. Ten peculiar children flee an army of deadly monsters. And only one person can help them—but she’s trapped in the body of a bird. The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. There, they hope to find a cure for their beloved headmistress, Miss Peregrine. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. And before Jacob can deliver the peculiar children to safety, he must make an important decision about his love for Emma Bloom. Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

Pages: 400

Goodreads Rating: 4.06/5 Stars

My Rating: 3/5 Stars

My Opinion

I know I said that I was hoping this book would be different from the previous novel and that I would finally fall in love with this trilogy. However, it still hasn’t happened yet, so here’s to hoping for book three! But I will say that I was happy that this book didn’t fall victim to the second book slump. It carried a new set of adventures, a short time frame, and was chalk full of characterization.

Within this book, we saw the familiar array of faces from book one and got to learn more about the characters and their world. However, I wish we could have learned more about the peculiar world! Yes, we got to see the expansion of Jacob’s powers and explored new loops and got a look into the fairy tales that helped to shape the world (I can’t wait to see that novella anthology in September!).

In addition, there was more conflict within this book, which was nice to see! The stakes were raised as the children raced to set things right while being chased down by the Hollows and their master wights. Although, I do wish there was more subplots within this book. The main focus was on saving Miss Peregrine, and there were some smaller conflicts between the children themselves, but there wasn’t much beyond that. I know that this is more of a middle grade/young adult novel, but I did wish that it digged into the plot a little deeper!

I think my favorite aspect of the book falls to the genre mixes that Ransom Riggs used. I’m a huge fan of fantasy and historical fiction, and to see them mesh together so beautifully is something I really appreciated in this novel. I also love how the historical fiction side is played off by the photos that Ransom selected for the book – they added a creepy side to the atmosphere of the novel, but also added illustration that truly pulled everything together.

With one book left in the trilogy, I really hope I find the moment where I truly fall in love with these books. Right now, I’m reading them and enjoying them, but I haven’t had that “Aha!” moment when I truly fall in love with the books. I’m still hoping for that to happen soon!

*****

“Laughing doesn’t make bad things worse any more than crying makes them better.”
― Ransom Riggs, Hollow City

Leave a Reply

