Library of Souls [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com):

Library of Souls Cover.jpgA boy with extraordinary powers. An army of deadly monsters. An epic battle for the future of peculiardom.

The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued in Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.

They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

Pages: 458

Goodreads Rating: 4.16/5 Stars

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

My Opinion

If you have read my previous reviews on this trilogy, then you know how much of a struggle it was for me to get through these books. And I think I figured out why I didn’t like them as much as everyone else did and experienced something similar to my struggles with Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds trilogy – the hype. So many people rave about these books and how amazing they are, and with all the hype in mind I went into these books expecting more than what I received.

Out of all of the books, this one was by far my favorite, which is ironic considering the fact that I had to put it down and comeback to it two weeks later. Oh well. (I was hoping to be able to show off my marathon read by having the books side y side on my Goodreads Challenge, but that dream cannot come true now!) My biggest issue with this novel was the pacing. It took a long time for the plot to get off of the ground, and I was very impatient when it came to waiting for events to occur. What hindered the pacing, for me, was the fact that we were only watching Emma and Jacob make their way through the settings, which meant that we didn’t get to handle mischieverousness from the other characters.

By far, we have seen a lot of character growth from our friend and main character Jacob, and this book really played off of that. While it remained on a more serious tone – until the finale – we definitely saw Jacob wise up and truly become the hero he was meant to me. His skills were refined, he learned how to make quick and tough decisions, and he grew further in his bravery, which was nice! What I truly liked about his character is that he played off on the everyday nature of his personality and past – he was not born a hero, but circumstances shaped him into one, even if he was never confident enough to embrace that. The humility that Jacob had throughout this novel truly spoke to the themes and motifs the readers saw.

Again, what truly makes the atmosphere great is the pictures that Ransom selected to offset the storyline. My favorite moments are when he directly mentions the photographs through using description of the images to create a character or setting for the novel. In addition, I appreciate how the photographs add a little bit of history to the novel.

All in all, I do wish that I had more reasons or motivation to love these books more. I do think the hype ruined it for me, which makes me wish I had found these books before everyone else did! Also, I am probably going to see the movie, so when that drops in September I’ll make sure to let you all know what I think!

*****

“It had become one of the defining truths of my life that, no matter how I tried to keep them flattened, two-dimensional, jailed in paper and ink, there would always be stories that refused to stay bound inside books. It was never just a story.”
― Ransom Riggs, Library of Souls

Leave a Reply

