The Glittering Court [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com)

The Glittering Court Cover.jpgBig and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.

But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…

Pages: 400

Goodreads Rating: 3.43/5 Stars

My Rating: 3.5 Stars

My Opinion

Now, I am a huge Richelle Mead fan. I’ve read all of the books in her Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series, her adult trilogy Age of X (even though I’m still waiting on that last book), and plan on getting a copy of Soundless soon. I’ve always really enjoyed her writing style because it is easy to read and get through and it always has that perfect a balance of description and plot, and her characters are always enjoyable to watch through their adventures.

Like most Richelle Mead books, I was very interested by the title and the synopsis of the story. I was also excited by the fact that this book had a pretty decent cover! (For fans of her Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series, we all know how much of a struggle bus those covers are.) Not to mention the fact that the book was a pretty decent size at 400 pages. Plus, I got this book for free from BookCon, so all around it was a win-win situation for me!

For me, this book definitely had it’s highs and lows, and I think that was a result of the weird pacing she used. The book covered – roughly – a two year span of these characters lives. However, it had this weird “play and fast forward” feel to it. For instance, we’d be spending three to five chapters at this one moment in time and then we’d fast forward three or four months at a time. It had a disjointed feeling.

But, this weird pacing allowed Richelle to cover more story and plot points, which I wasn’t expecting. I walked into the book believing that the focus would be on the glittering court and all of the girls there; rather, that was a minor portion of the book. I know I would have much rather spent one book with the glittering court, and then the other two books would have more than enough room for adventuring in other points of the world. Instead, we moved rapidly throughout the world and plot.

Also the romance was not what I was expecting it to be! Richelle Mead is known for waiting until book three or four to really kick-start the romance. Considering that this is a trilogy, I wasn’t expecting that to occur until book two. It felt a bit rushed to me and it wasn’t as dazzling as her normal romance lines are, which was disappointing.

Besides those points against the book, it was still interesting! The first half or so I was really invested in what was going on and about the mystery of the true name of our heroine. (Although, I am disappointed in myself that I didn’t figure out what it was right away.) Once I hit the 200-250 page mark, I did start to get a little disinterested in what was happening. In addition, Richelle touched on some touchy themes, such as patriarchy and sexual assault, which I found to be surprising, but she pulled it off well!

Will I continue with this trilogy? I’m not sure at this point, but knowing me I probably will read all of the books, since I love to have completed series and trilogies sitting on my shelves. I’m also curious to see where this trilogy leads, considering this one ended with the feeling of a standalone!

*****

The Glittering Court (Trilogy)

  • The Glittering Court
  • Untitled
  • Untitled

*****

“Bad things are always going to happen,” my father had told me in his last year. “There’s no way to avoid that. Our control comes in how we face them. Do we let them crush us, making us despondent? Do we face them unflinchingly and endure the pain? Do we outsmart them?”
― Richelle Mead, The Glittering Court

Leave a Reply

