WB: The Bully

WritersBlockPic_opt_LargeWide

If there are two words that a writer hates hearing or saying, you know it’s going to be these two: Writer’s Block.

WB.

The bully that never goes away, no matter how hard you try to fight him off.

(Now, ironically enough, I’ve actually procrastinated on writing this post because of those two words. I was blocked from writing about writer’s block. How about that for a double whammy?)

I hate thinking and talking about writer’s block because it is the one thing that kills my stories off, whether or not they are close to far away from being finished. Which sucks, because I want to be a published writer one day. But how will that dream ever come true when writer’s block saunter’s its way into my life and kills off said dream?

That’s one of the reasons why I try to avoid WB as much as possible. (Which is a challenge in itself, but what’s life without a challenge?). If it’s one thing that I’ve learned, when it comes to my creative writing, I need to pace myself. It’s the one way to avoid WB from coming to town. Depending on what story I’m working on, I have to figure out what a good pace of writing is and find the perfect word count to work through every day. If I go over or under that amount, it usually leads to me either being burned out the next day or unwilling to write more.

Another way I try to avoid WB is by reading a really good book. I find, that when I’m passionate about what I’m reading, that passion also follows me into my story writing. There’s always this strategy: you need to always read while writing, in order to fully immerse yourself in the world of the written word. However, with that, you also face the issue of unconsciously drawing elements from that book into your own work. Then again, there is no such thing as an original story….

After WB comes and goes, I find that two things have occurred: I’ve either had a fantastic idea come my way, or my story lay dying in my hands. Usually the latter occurs, which sucks, but it also reminds me that I need to work harder to fight for my stories.

WB is a bully. But it doesn’t have to be.

*****

1. the condition of being unable to think of what to write or how to proceed with writing.
2 thoughts on “WB: The Bully

  1. gracecrandallauthor says:

    This is the most accurate post on writer’s block I’ve ever read. I love your observation on the passion of reading translating to the passion of writing–I’ve always felt that but never knew how to put it into words 🙂
    Something else that helps me (if writer’s block happens to coincide with a reading slump) is going out and watching people, or talking with friends. Sometimes that rekindles a sort of people-sense that can help flat characters come alive again 🙂 (not that I’d ever tell my friends that. “I may be talking to you, but in fact I’m using your facial tics as inspiration for one of the characters I’m writing…”) XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

