Camp NaNoWriMo: July 2016

I’ve made a post about Camp NaNoWriMo before, but it’s the second round of the summer, so of course I have to write about it!

My project is a story that I started way back at the beginning of high school, back during NaNoWriMo in 2012. This story is four years old -crazy, right? But what’s crazier is that fact that I have yet to finish this story. What have I been doing with my life? Oh, that’s right, not working on it.

When I picked it back up it was at a little over 55,000 words. I decided to use this story about five days before Camp NaNo began, which was definitely a brilliant idea on my part, considering the last time I touched this story was back in 2014. I had to do multiple steps to get this story shaped up for Camp NaNo.

Did I mention the fact that I had five days to get this ready? I was only mildly insane.

I have to say, past me did not know how to prepare a story. When I was going through my documents for the story, I had plenty of information for the synopsis and on the characters (well, kind of on the characters…). But I had no outline. No notes on what had already happened in the story – which meant that I was starting from scratch. I am very lucky that I had gotten Scrivener after Camp NaNo in April because it has been an absolute lifesaver. I had to completely reread, lightly edit, and outline my entire story before July 1st. I ended up finishing said tasks on July 3rd. But, I tried, right?

My goal for this story is to bring it one step closer to being a completed novel. After editing, I started at about 56,000 words and my goal is to add another 20,000 words to it by the end of the month. Right now, I am very behind in my word count, thanks to the lovely appearance of WB. I know where I want to take the story, but I’m not sure as to how I’m going to get it there.

Oh! I never mentioned the name of my story, now did I?

The title is Sorry I Left and it is a contemporary, young adult novel. It’s told in dual perspectives between the two main characters, Kyla and Ryder. The story follows their journey through their final year of high school as they both learn how to love and how to be loved – while discovering new things about themselves along the way.

Okay, the way I started it makes it sound very cliche, but there are a lot of deeper main and subplot points that I’m working out right now, but I don’t want to spoil the surprise! Although this definitely won’t be hitting shelves anytime soon, I really hope that this will be the story that brings me into the publishing world! That’s the dream, anyway.

Are any of you doing Camp NaNoWriMo this time around? I’d love to hear about your story in the comments!

See ya next time!

Leave a Reply

