Harry Potter and the Cursed Child [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

HP #8 CoverSynopsis (Taken from Goodreads): 

The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Pages: 320

Goodreads Rating: 4.18/5 Stars (As of 8/2/2016)

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Opinion

It’s happened again. Once more, Harry Potter has taken over my life and I’m completely okay with it. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was an impulse buy for me – I just happened to need things from the store, and it would’ve been a shame if I didn’t pick up a copy when it was on sale – and I am so glad I bought it.

I have a very deep history with Harry Potter, like many readers do. I first started reading the series when I was in fourth grade. This series has been with me since I was nine, ten years old. I read the series three times by the time I hit middle school and I have seen all of the movies multiple times as well. Harry Potter is a series that I will always remember and it will always have a special place in my heart.

That being said, OH MY GOD THIS PLAY WAS AWESOME. It was also very clear that JK Rowling has been paying attention to fan theories and fanfictions, because I saw many of those theories woven into this brand new story. I’m not going to say what they were, but it was really neat to see those involved in the plot line!

Not only that, but since this story is actually a play script, it is very easy to get through! It took me about four hours to read it – and it would’ve taken less time if I didn’t distract myself.

What I enjoyed the most was being able to see the next generation of our favorite Witches and Wizards, while also seeing cameos from some of our favorite characters! It was cool to see into the family life of Harry and Ginny, Hermonie and Ron, and Draco Malfoy. You could see parts of their personalities within their children, while their children were also acting as their own people. Out of all of the new characters, my favorite was probably Draco Malfoy’s son (which is ironic, considering I wasn’t the biggest fan of Draco during the series).

Besides the characters, the plot was very well paced, even if it did move quickly. You had to pay pretty close attention to details and to the major plot points, but every second of it was worth it. Our characters were on a new fanfiction-fan-theories-meets-Doctor-Who tale and I loved every second of it.

More than anything, though, I found myself trying to figure out how they would pull off some of these stunts and magic and events. In high school, I was a drama kid and I was the properties master for my senior year and my director made us do crazy things (*cough* Phantom of the Opera *cough*), so for much of the time that I was reading, I was trying to figure out how it would be done on stage. This play is not easy – it’s probably one of the hardest ones I’ve ever read, between the sets, scene changes, and more – but I’m sure the London crew is doing well with it and I wish that I could go and see it myself!

If anything, this play was the perfect end to one of the best fantasy series of my childhood. I hope the play finds success in London and will be able to tour the US soon!

*****

One of my favorite YouTubers, Christine at PolandBananasBooks, posted a book review as well! She had all of the same thoughts that I did, so I highly recommend watching it! But be warned: there are spoilers. It’s more of a discussion than a review.

Check it out here!

*****

Harry Potter (Series)

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

*****

“In every shining moment of happiness is that drop of poison: the knowledge that pain will come again. Be honest to those you love, show your pain. To suffer is as human as to breathe.”
― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

