My Top 5 Reads of 2016 (January-July)

Hey guys!

First off, I want to apologize for my sudden hiatus last week. My family and I went on a mini vacation around me working 34 hours and I didn’t have much time to read or write. Due to those reasons, I wasn’t able to prepare my two blog posts for the week!

In addition, my reading slump is back and it’s fierce. I’m finding it really hard to start a book and stay with it, so I’m hoping some of the late August and September reads may be able to get me out of the slump – but, I return to college in about three weeks, so I’m going to find it hard to blog again then.

Anyways, now that I’ve made a random tangent into nowhere land, let’s get this post started, shall we?

Nicole’s Top 5 Reads of 2016

Spoiler Free, Per Usual!

Usually by this time of the summer, I would have read about 20-30 books. However, that hasn’t been the case this summer, which is really frustrating for a bookworm. No matter how many books I buy, this reading slump just won’t die and it’s super frustrating.

For this post, I’m going to quickly cover my favorite books that I’ve read this year (some of these books were published before 2016) and link you to my reviews! Let’s get started!

5. Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea CoverI absolutely love historical fiction, but lately it’s been really difficult to find ones that capture my attention. However, that was not the case with this book! It was well paced, covered one of the most tragic and unknown tragedies of World War II. I read this while on vacation in June and it took me around three or four hours to read. Salt to the Sea is a short read, but what makes it easy to read through is the fact that the chapters are only a matter of a few pages long. In addition, the characters are all dynamic and lovable in their own way. If you are looking for a historical fiction read, I highly recommend this novel!

4. An Ember in the Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes CoverWhen I finished this book, my first thought was: “Why did I wait this long to read it?” This novel, honestly, blew me away. Not only was the pacing great, but the story had a mix of Ancient Rome and fantasy elements that came together to create a fantastic story. Along with this, we had an interested mix of main characters: a solider who is brave, but doesn’t believe in what he is fighting for; a girl who is a coward, but learns to be brave. I can’t say more without spoiling anything, but if you haven’t read this book yet: What are you doing with your life? Get on this!

3. A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses CoverSarah J Maas has to be one of my newest and favorite young adult/new adult fantasy writers, and it’s well deserved. Her writing is easy to read and enticing – so warning: I guarantee you will not be able to put her books down, because they are addicting. Most of the books I have read in the past year have been her’s, and it’s been totally worth it.

This is the first novel of her newest trilogy; but, more importantly, it’s also a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. I really enjoy fairy tale retellings, and this was definitely one of my favorites. I mean, there’s the fae, a mysterious evil King across the sea, a wall separating the humans from the paranormal – it’s a grand world that holds even grander adventures for the reader. I’m counting down the days until the last book is released!

2. A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Mist and Fury CoverThis is the sequel to A Court of Thorns and Roses and I have to say, I loved it even more than the first book! It strode away from the fairytale retelling aspect and showed more of the fantastical world Sarah was creating. We still follow our main character, Feyre, but what I enjoyed about this one is that Sarah explored deeper and darker themes. We explored mental illness, abuse, and more alongside the main plot line she had. Not only that, but everything about this book was fierce. If you want a well paced, super long, new adult fantasy read, I highly recommended picking up this trilogy!

1. Lady Midnight

Lady Midnight coverFor those of you who don’t know, I am a die hard Shadowhunters fan (No, I’m not talking about the show, I’m talking about the books here). Cassandra Clare is my Queen when it comes to young adult fantasy writing and she definitely deserves that title. I always find myself becoming completely immersed in her books. They make me laugh, cry, and always wanting more. Lady Midnight is the first book in her newest trilogy and it was amazing. It was long, introduced us to a new world of characters, and left us wondering: What’s going to happen next? However, if you are going to jump into this world, you definitely need to start at the beginning with The Infernal Devices.

That’s All!

If you haven’t picked up any of these titles before, I highly recommend doing so! They are all fantastic books and they all deserve more love. Let me know if you have read any of these books and what your thoughts are on them!

Until next time!

Nicole

Leave a Reply

