Dragon Age: Inquisition [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Dragon-Age-Inquisition (2)I have recently fallen in love with the Bioware games; however, since winter of last year, I have been playing their Dragon Age series. Although I haven’t finished a play through of the first game and I recently purchase the second game, but the third game – oh my goodness, when I say I am obsessed with this game, that’s putting it lightly. Like with most things, there truly aren’t words to describe how much love I have for this game. For a long time, this game was the only thing I could think about and the only thing I wanted to do daily, which is dangerous for a college student!

Game Summary (Taken from Dragonage.com):

A cataclysmic event plunges the land of Thedas into turmoil. Dragons darken the sky, casting a shadow over lands on the brink of chaos. Mages break into all-out war against the oppressive templars. Nations rise against one another. It falls to you and your allies to restore order as you lead the Inquisition and hunt down the agents of chaos.

Explore, lead, and battle: Tough choices define your experience, and even one decision can change the course of what’s to come.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Opinion

As I stated in my introduction, there are no words to describe my love for this game. The graphics are flawlessly beautiful, the story line was written by true fantasy masters, and it has just the right amount of difficulty to keep you invested in the game. There are a variety of enemies to take down, plenty of areas to explore, and more.

Although I had never played the first two Dragon Age games, this one drew me in. I was also fortunate enough to get the game of the year edition, which included all of the DLCs and extra armor and other goodies. When I first started playing this game, I wasn’t sure what to expect. My roommate had played through Dragon Age: Origins and loved every moment of the game, so I thought I would give the third one a try.

And I’m so glad that I did.

Dragon-Age-Inquisition-All-Characters-HD-WallpaperHonestly, there is not one part of this game that I don’t enjoy. But if I had to pick one aspect of the game that I love more than the other, it’s definitely the story line. Its not too long, its not too short, and it can venture of into different directions that add more dimensionality to what you’re doing. Of course, you can’t forget about Bioware’s signature move either: romancing other characters in the game.

In addition, they added a neat feature: the war table. From there, you can see a map of the world (Which is big! We get to explore two different countries in this game: Thedas and Orlais), set your council on operations, and more. But be warned: the operations are in live time, so they can take anywhere from five minutes to twenty four hours to complete.

Along with this, I highly recommend doing every quest that comes your way. Every decision and major or minor quest you are assigned adds story, decisions, and a more thorough game play experience! I blew through the first game play I made, which led me to missing a lot of crucial things (more areas in maps, important loot, etc.), so I have started a second play through of the game! I am finding more quests to complete, more enemies to slay, and even better loot than I found the first time.

Final Recommendation

If you are looking for a kickass, perfectly paced, (almost) chose your adventure fantasy game, I highly recommend this game! I mean, I put 100 hours on it in a week in a half (During finals of my fall semester – oops), so it’s really easy to fall into the story and want to stay there.

But, if you aren’t completely sold on the game, feel free to heck out Jesse Cox play the game over on YouTube! I have enjoyed his play through so far, and hope he updates it soon!

Here are Some Images from the Game!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Dragon Age: Inquisition [Review]

  1. Chris AM says:

    I’ve been thinking on buying the latest one (never played one before), but have been undecided since I regretted buying Assasins Creed IV so badly

    Like

Leave a Reply

