The Rose and the Dagger [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

The Rose and the Dagger (Cover0.jpgSynopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com):

The darker the sky, the brighter the stars.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny. Still, a curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Now she’s reunited with her family, who have found refuge in the desert, where a deadly force is gathering against Khalid—a force set on destroying his empire and commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Trapped between loyalties to those she loves, the only thing Shazi can do is act. Using the burgeoning magic within her as a guide, she strikes out on her own to end both this terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. But to do it, she must evade enemies of her own to stay alive.

The saga that began with The Wrath and the Dawn takes its final turn as Shahrzad risks everything to find her way back to her one true love again. (

Pages: 416

Goodreads Rating: 4.24/5 Stars

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

My Opinion

Now, I haven’t read a duology in quite a long time, and I really found myself enjoying this one in a way that I never expected! These two books had a major impact on my life (as in, they have helped me get past my writer’s block and helped me to find my groove again.

The Rose and the Dagger was the perfect extension to The Wrath and the Dawn. The book picked up right where we last left off and immediately Renee jumped into action. However, there wasn’t as much action as I was expecting there to be. It was scattered throughout the novel – at all the right moments – but with the amount of tension involved, it was enough to still make this book interesting for the reader. In addition, that tension built up to the final few chapters, which didn’t leave Renee much time to wrap up the adventure. But it was a successful ending, nonetheless!

However, at the same time I did feel that we covered more plot points than we did in the previous book. We still remained, for the most part, in one centralized location, but we also got to explore more of the lore of the novel. Shazi’s abilities, what her father did, Khalid’s curse and how to remove it – all of that information came to life as we went on a grand adventure to stop a plot against the Caliph.

The two items that left an impression on me was: the development of the minor characters, and the development of the lore of the books. While usually the developmental aspects of character are primarily seen in the main characters, Shazi and Khalid reached their peak of development in the previous novel, which allowed Renee to play around with the more minor characters that were mere highlights from The Wrath and the Dawn. This novel touched on Shazi’s sister, Tariq and their other friends, and the father. In addition, we had some added understanding about the magical powers that played an elemental role in the novel. Although it wasn’t 100% cleared up by the end of the novel, it still added a new level of understanding and importance for the reader.

All in all, I absolutely adored these books and I understand why the hype is so big about them! And like I stated in my review for The Wrath and the Dawn, these books have helped me pave past my writers block and I’m writing again! Although college is inhibiting my reading and writing time, hopefully I’ll be able to write about my new project and write more book reviews soon!

*****

The Wrath and the Dawn (Duology)

  • The Wrath and the Dawn
  • The Rose and the Dagger

*****

“It was because they were two parts of a whole. He did not belong to her. And she did not belong to him. It was never about belonging to someone. It was about belonging together.”
― Renee Ahdieh, The Rose & the Dagger

Leave a Reply

