Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: Season One [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.jpg

Synopsis:

Successful and driven, Rebecca Bunch seemingly has it all — an upscale apartment in Manhattan and a partnership at a prestigious law firm — but she feels like something is missing. After a chance meeting with a former romantic interest, Rebecca impulsively decides to give up her life in New York and relocate to West Covina, Calif., a Los Angeles suburb she hopes will be the perfect home base as she embarks on a quest for love, adventure and true happiness.

Starring: Rachel Bloom

Rating: 7.6/10 Stars (IMDB), 98% (RottenTomatoes)

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

My Opinion

I had first heard about this show from Christine, over at PolandBananasBooks, and from one of my friends and both of them had been raving about this show, so I decided to add it to my Netflix watch list. With a grand total of 18 episodes, one full season, and a season two premiere on October 21st, I honestly couldn’t have chosen a better time to binge watch this hilarious musical-comedy-CW show.

Although I am a little – very – bitter at The CW at the moment (iTunes Pass? Really? I bought Hulu so I could watch your shows, and now you want me to pay $40 per show, per season if I miss the live airing of a new episode? Can I say RUDE!), I can’t deny the fact that they have great shows that I enjoy watching. From Arrow, Flash, Legends of Tomorrow, to the dark The 100, to Reign, and now Crazy Ex-Girlfriend… Well, I think you get the gist. I watch a lot of shows from The CW.

So what’s one more, right?

Although it took me around three weeks to watch the first season (college leaves one with very little free time, hence why I’m not keeping up with all of my shows at this moment in time), but at least I can say I was hilariously entertained! This show makes you fall in love with Rebecca Bunch, a successful lawyer who makes the move from New York City all the way to West Covina, California (*cue theme song playing in head*) and takes on a job at a new firm, making new friends, and finding happiness for herself.

Or, well, that happiness comes in the form of stalking her old boyfriend, and coming across many misadventures with her new BFF Paula.

What intrigued me about the show was the musical aspect. Now, I am a sucker for theatre and musicals, so when I saw that it was a comedic musical television show, I had to check it out! There are about two songs per episode, which gives it the perfect blend of regular show and musicality, and are often the most humorous moments in the show, as we take a peek into the wild imaginations that all of the characters have.

More than that, we see amazing character development from the major and minor characters. Although the focus may be on Miss Rebecca Bunch, all of the people that surround her in life also overcome their own obstacles and grow from there. Usually in a show there are multiple characters that I dislike; in the case of this show, I was rooting for all of them – even the obviously satirical ones – and wished them the best.

Although, don’t be surprised that there are many television tropes that are found within this show. These days, it’s almost unavoidable to include some of the tropes and situations that are written into rom-com shows, and this one wasn’t any different. There is no denying that the tropes – “Oh no, I texted him and now need to delete it off his phone!”, “He’s going there, so I need to go there to!”, etc. – were prevalent in almost every episode, but they were also spun in a unique Rebecca Bunch fashion, which made it more lighthearted and amusing.

Am I excited to see where season two is going to take us? Yes. Seeing as I have already seen the first episode of the new season, I can tell you all that we are tackling some more serious themes and issues, but I am also hoping that we aren’t going to lose the lighthearted aspects that we saw in the first season.

I am excited to see where this show takes us, and if you haven’t seen this show yet, I highly recommend it! I’m sure it’ll leave you laughing and smiling and rooting for the characters in the same way I am.

Leave a Reply

