Fantastic Beasts [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Fantastic Beasts.jpgSynopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com): 

J.K. Rowling’s screenwriting debut is captured in this exciting hardcover edition of the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them screenplay.

When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best.

Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any reader’s bookshelf.

Pages: 293

Goodreads Rating: 4.45/5 Stars

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Opinion

Seeing as I saw the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie, it was only fair that I buy the bound screenplay as well. Ultimately, I finally got it at Target with some Christmas gift cards, and I am so glad I did! It was a quick read – around 90 minutes total to read this cover to cover – and beautifully formatted (the artwork was making me drool a little bit).

I have read both Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and now Fantastic Beasts and I’m left with the impression that J.K. Rowling is one of the most talented authors in the world. I grew up with Harry Potter and now that I’m a young adult, it’s very exciting for me to have the chance to enter new worlds with her writing. I also like that we’re getting play scrips and screen plays published from her – these formats are easy and quick to read!

After seeing the movie, it was very easy to recall the various scenes and meld them into the raw script I was reading. More importantly, I felt that I finally understood more of Rowling’s plot motives after I read the script. Through this book, it was clearer to see the subplots melding together into the main plot. Also, it cleared up my confusion about some of the actions the actors used – Graves and Credence *coughcough* – and showed me just how purposeful everything was.

All in all, I’m hoping that the other four movies will also bind up their scripts for us to purchase and read, and I’m excited to see what the next movies hold for us!

*****

“My philosophy is that worrying means you suffer twice.”
― J.K. Rowling, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay

Leave a Reply

