Wires and Nerve [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

Wires and Nerve Cover.jpgSynopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com): 

In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure — with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.

In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers’ leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

Pages: 240

Goodreads Rating: 3.48/5 Stars

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Opinion

Currently, I am taking a film course titled “Text and Images.” This class is teaching us the ways that media (specifically images) and narrative have come together within our culture as a means of communication. This means that we get to read and analyze graphic novels, comic books, video games, etc.. I’m sure you’re all wondering why this is important to my review – well, because of this class I have a growing interest in reading more graphic novels and getting my hands on manga, and the release of Wires and Nerve allowed me to do just that.

The Lunar Chronicles, as a series, is probably one of my top five fantasy/science fiction/young adult series of all time. So when I heard the series was getting a graphic novel duology, I was definitely intrigued and excited to see the series take on a new form and genre! And, let me tell you, volume one did not disappoint.

If it is one thing I still struggle with, while reading graphic novels, it’s that I don’t know how to balance my time between reading the text and admiring the images on the pages. My current class is starting to help me find that balance, but it can still be described to be difficult at times. However, what helped was that this volume was drawn in a comic book, or Western style (The previous graphic novel that I have read was Clockwork Princess [I still need to get the other two!], which was drawn in the Japanese manga style. I haven’t had much experience with that genre, so it was harder to keep track of everything since Western and Eastern comic styles have considerable differences.), and printed in blue and black ink. This gave more definition to the images and it was easier to find a balance between reading the two vital parts of the graphic novel. Not only that, but the navy blue color was beautiful and built up a tone around the story itself.

As for the story, it followed our favorite android, Iko, as she works to find her place in the world after the events of Winter. Although there were moments where I was cringing as I found some clichés and tropes that are dominating the young adult fiction world, it had a nice flow. In addition, there was a balance between action, slower moments, and many, many cameos from our favorite main characters from the previous books. However, I think the best part of this read was the fact that it heavily relied on the reader knowing the characters and past events from the previous books, but this graphic novel did not spend much time rehashing out what had happened. We had a quick eight to ten paged prologue, catching us up to speed, and then we were into the story and on a new adventure with some of our most favorite and beloved characters.

And, being honest here, I think I read the entire thing within a matter of two to three hours. I read most of it while I was working my campus job and was very disappointed when I reached the end. Since it’s being released in volumes, we only received half of the story, and I am dying to know what happens next. Not to mention, I wish it was more than two volumes, but that’s a complaint to voice at a later time.

Overall, if you are in love with The Lunar Chronicles and aren’t afraid to venture into a new form of storytelling, I highly recommend picking up this novel. While it may be weird to adjust to a different narrative form, I wouldn’t have Iko’s new adventure told in any other way.

*****

Wires and Nerve (Duology)

  • Wires and Nerve, Volume 1
  • Wires and Nerve, Volume 2 (Coming Soon!)

Leave a Reply

