We Were Liars [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

We Were Liars (Cover)Synopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com): 

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Pages: 227

Goodreads Rating: 3.85/5 Stars

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

My Opinion

This was a novel that I’ve been wanting to read for a long time, but I was struggling to get my hands on a copy. Until I took a much needed trip to Half Priced Books, that is. Finally, they had a used copy of this wonderful novel. Although it’s been about a month since I purchased it, this weekend I really need a quick contemporary read to try to pull me out of my slump, and it definitely helped me with that.

Being honest, I did find it hard to slip into the narrative style at first. I’m not quite sure how to go about describing Lockhart’s style, it’s something that you have to experience yourself, but it’s definitely more of a mix of poetic and prose, but all in a good way. It was somewhere in the area of page 50 that I started to feel the flow of the writing and got invested into the story.

E. writes with a subtly that forces the reader to really dig around and pay attention to details, which was refreshing compared to many of the young adult novels being published these days. Considering this book is based around the idea of lies and liars, it definitely is important that you, as the reader, pay close attention to the details Lockhart is laying out.

Between the writing style and details, another aspect Lockhart pulled off wonderfully was characterization and dialogue. There was an incredible feeling of realism to both of those aspects, which made it easier to connect with and fall into the story. With the story being based around a privileged white American family, it was definitely important to be able to connect with the characterization. Lockhart also brought in an aspect of diversity as well, and that is something I appreciated more than anything else.

However, I don’t want to give away anything else, for knowing too much about a book is no fun, especially when it comes to this novel. If you have read this one before, let me know what you thought!

*****

“We are liars. We are beautiful and privileged. We are cracked and broken.”
― E. Lockhart, We Were Liars

Leave a Reply

