A Court of Wings and Ruin [Review]

SPOILERS BELOW

A Court of Wings and Ruin Cover.jpgSynopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com): 

A nightmare, I’d told Tamlin. I was the nightmare.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit—and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords—and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

Pages: 699

Goodreads Rating: 4.69/5 Stars

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

My Opinion

If I am being completely honest here, I had to wait a few days before writing this review. Why? Well, I needed a recovery period. There is something about Sarah’s writing that is so immersive and all-consuming that I needed a few days to collect my thoughts before sitting down at my laptop and pulling together an attempt at a comprehensive review. Also, I finished reading this book at 1:30 in the morning, so that also hindered me from writing a review initially.

Although it’s been about a year or so since I was last in the world of A Court of Thorns and Roses, it definitely felt like coming home, and I think that was due to the characterization. It was easy to fall back together with The Night Court and to see their relationships tested. Sarah never holds back in characterization and development readers, and I always enjoy tracking those aspects across the books. Also! Sarah listened to many online conversations pertaining to the lack of diversity within her books. We found a more colorful and expansive cast of characters that worked to include all of her readers, which was something I think we all can appreciate.

 

For myself, the most substantial development came in the form of Nesta (and her relationship with Cassian). Initially, I had a great amount of concern over her and Elain, as they had been forced against their will to transform, and then were left without their sister to guide them through the beginnings of her new life. Now, I’ve always had a soft stop for Nesta – I mean, her no-nonsense attitude was alway something I admired – and seeing the progress she made with both her cauldron magic and character wise blew me away. My favorite part, by far, was at the end of the novel, when we finally saw Nesta and Cassian coming together (Okay, but they better be mates because I have SO MANY FEELINGS when it comes to them). She killed Hybern, protected Cassian, and saved the world. If anything, she’s as badass as Feyre, and I adore that.

But I have to take a moment to talk about my OTP, Rhys and Feyre. If it there is one other thing I admire about Sarah’s writing, is that her relationships always feel increasingly more and more realistic the longer you are with the couples. Rhys and Feyre are simply perfect for each other and I appreciate how Rhys pushes on the ideas that females are his equal, and since Feyre is his mate, it is important to him that she gets her share in decision making and leading. Although I could have done with a little less sexy times and a little more conflict between them – they almost never fought/their spats never lasted long, so I had a hard time believing in that aspect. Otherwise, I was very content to return to my OTP of the century.

After I finished reading the book, I found myself wondering around on BookTube and Kat (Katytastic) had made a comment how she thought this third book would be the end of the story arc, since it was originally a trilogy. I had never thought about that idea walking into the books and I wish I had because it rang true. I believe it was around the 300-400 paged range that I began to wonder just how much material Sarah was going to cover within this novel.

The answer? A LOT.

I was okay with every second of it, though! We got to see more of the world – beautiful place, to the point that I wish it was real – and I was feeling some Narnia vibes at times, especially at the end with the final battle. Overall, the plot pacing was excellent. I never found myself growing bored or wanting to put the book down. Per usual, I couldn’t predict the twists and turns that the plot took us on, which was refreshing compared to some of the other books I have been reading lately.

However, I do have one complaint when it came to the final battle. Everyone survived at the end, and I had a difficult time dealing with that at the end. Yes, we did had the Rhys fakeout on page 666 (not going to lie, I definitely shed many tears when I hit that part), but we ended up with both Rhys and Amren at the end. I wanted at least one heartwrenching loss to stay as a loss, instead of a fakeout.

Otherwise, I completely fell in love with this book (even though A Court of Mist of Fury still stands as my favorite book so far). Feyre has to be one of my favorite heroines and I cannot wait to see what the next three books have in store for all of us!

*****

Throne of Glass (Series)

  • The Assassins Blade
  • Throne of Glass
  • Crown of Midnight
  • Heir of Fire
  • Queen of Shadows
  • Empire of Storms
  • Tower of Dawn (9.5.17)
  • Untitled

A Court of Thorns and Roses (Trilogy)

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • A Court of Mist and Fury
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin
  • Untitled
  • Untitled
  • Untitled

*****

“It’s a rare person to face who they are and not run from it – not be broken by it.”
― Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Wings and Ruin

Leave a Reply

