Six of Crows Duology [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

six-of-crows-coverSynopsis for Six of Crows (Taken from Goodreads.com): 

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

Pages: 465

Goodreads Rating: 4.45/5 Stars

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

*****

crooked-kingdom-coverSynopsis for Crooked Kingdom (Taken from Goodreads.com): 

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

Pages: 536

Goodreads Rating: 4.65/5 Stars

My Rating: 4/5 Stars

*****

My Opinion

I have to say, I feel really apologetic to these books. I started reading them at the end of my winter break and I knew it was going to be a challenge to read them when my spring semester started, and I was right on that notion. It took me about five months to get through these two books, which was a struggle. But I am happy to finally be able to write a quick review on these two!

It’s been a while since I last read the Grisha trilogy by Leigh, but it was very easy to fall back into the high fantasy world she had created. However, if you haven’t read the previous trilogy, you will be missing out on a lot of the history and political nuances that are mentioned within the duology.

Per usual, Leigh also has a colorful cast of characters! If you have trouble connecting with one character, there is no doubt that you will find another one to connect with as well. For myself, many of the characters went under well thought out and careful development that was fun to trace throughout the two books. In addition, the characters all balanced each other out in terms of personality and motivations, which added layers to the novel. (I have to say, my favorite character was definitely Inej and I hope that she gets a spin-off novel, because I would love to see more of her story.)

I do have to say that the plot and pacing of the first book was more appealing and easier to get through than the second. I know Leigh had stated that it was difficult for her to write both novels and that hindered her on the second book. I had no problem falling into the world of the first novel, but when it came to Crooked Kingdom, I had a hard time adjusting to the pacing and events of the novel. However, these books are excellent when it comes to twists and being unable to predict what will happen next. If you’re looking for a bit of a fantasy thriller, these are

If you’re looking for a bit of a fantasy thriller, these are the books for you! I believe that if I had read them at a different time, when I would have more consistent time to read, I definitely would have been able to enjoy these books more thoroughly. I hope to return to these books in the future to better enjoy them and truly appreciate the tale Leigh is telling.

*****

Six of Crows (Duology)

  • Six of Crows
  • Crooked Kingdom

*****

“No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck.”
― Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

Leave a Reply

