The Unexpected Everything [Review]

SPOILER FREE REVIEW

The Unexpected Everything CoverSynopsis (Taken from Goodreads.com): 

Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

Pages: 519

Goodreads Rating: 4.07/5 Stars

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

My Opinion

It has been a long time since I last enjoyed a contemporary novel as much as I enjoyed The Unexpected Everything. Honestly, Morgan Matson is quickly rising on my list of favorite young adult contemporary authors, so I highly recommend checking out her books if you haven’t already!

Following similar themes to Since You’ve Been Gone, this book was focused on summer break for our main character Andie and the life lessons she learned across those three short months. I enjoyed many of the heartwarming themes and messages Morgan wrote about in these pages – covering ideas such as friendship, family, and change. (Also, this book made me nostalgic for my own summer breaks during high school and how much fun I had with friends and family during that time. I hate being an adult sometimes.)

There was a lot of admirable writing covering the pages of this novel. The imagery was pretty vivid and I had no problems falling into a first person point of view – it’s been a long time since I last read a novel in that perspective. It was a nice change to be thoroughly involved within a character’s head and to truly experience the world through her eyes. Along with this, it gave the reader the ability to enjoy Andie’s character development from beginning to end.

For a 519 paged book, it was also paced well. I normally don’t come across contemporary novels that extend beyond 400 pages, so it was interesting to watch the developments across the pages. While I wish the plot, in general, was a little less predictable and I wish that Morgan gave us a few more scenes showing the development of Andie and Clark’s relationship. However, those wishes were definitely balanced out by the scenes with Andie’s friends and her father.

Furthermore, there were three aspects to the book that I adored:

1) We got snippets from a fantasy series that would play an important role in the novel plot (MORGAN WHERE ARE THE FULL FANTASY BOOKS, I WANT TO READ THEM, THEY SOUND AMAZING).

2) A inside joke between Andie’s friend group relates a lot to the silliness of romantic relationship portrayals in movies and television shows, which I loved.

3) We were able to see into the text messages on Andie’s phone, which is a rare find in books these days. (While they may not have been completely formatted to match that of a text conversation, the general feeling was there.)

All in all, Morgan did a great job in portraying the attitudes and developments of a teenage girl. Also, I loved the Easter Eggs she left – in reference to her previous book, Since You’ve Been Gone – as it made the book more fun to read, especially when I recognized the locations and previous character’s we’ve seen before. While I might have been disappointed in the predictability of the novel, the good definitely balanced it out and I enjoyed this fantastic summer read.

*****

“It’s always a risk. Wherever there is great emotion. because there is power in that. And few people handle power well.”
― Morgan Matson, The Unexpected Everything

Leave a Reply

